IELTS Full Form is International English Language Testing System. The IELTS is a globally recognized English test. IELTS assesses all of your English skills — Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking. IELTS is the high states English test for international study, migration and work.You should take the IELTS general test if you want to train or study at below degree level, work or undertake work related training in an English speaking country, or if you want to emigrate to an English-speaking country.

In IELTS, there are two formats to choose from – Academic and General Training.The Academic module is for candidates wishing to study at undergraduate or postgraduate levels, and for those seeking professional registration.The General Training module is for candidates wishing to migrate to an English speaking country (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK), and for those wishing to train or study at below degree level. Both modules cover all four language skills –listening, reading, writing and speaking. Everyone takes the same listening and speaking tests. There are different reading and writing tests for the academic and general training modules.The listening, reading and writing tests must be completed on the same day. There are no breaks between the three written tests. The speaking test may be taken up to seven days before or after the other three tests.

Validity Period: IELTS results are valid for 2 years after the test date.

The four criteria on which the examiners award a band score in the Writing Section are:

  • Task Achievement (for Task 1)
  • Task Response (for Task 2)
  • Coherence and Cohesion
  • Lexical Resource and Grammatical Range and Accuracy

Similarly, the four criteria on which the examiners award a band score in the Speaking section are:

  • Fluency and Coherence
  • Lexical Resource
  • Grammatical Range and Accuracy
  • Pronunciation

Total Test Duration: 2 hours 45 minutes


British Council Kathmandu
IELTS Administrator
PO Box 640
Lainchaur, Kathmandu.